Stitches West recap

On Friday, Janice and I drove down to Stitches West in Santa Clara.  We split up for the first few hours while I volunteered in the Mother Bear Project booth.

I got to deliver a few bears in person, as well as hopefully recruit new bear knitters/crocheters, sell patterns and kits, and spread the word about the Mother Bear Project.

Special delivery!

Special delivery!

IMG_8844

With Amy (who runs the NPO), and RNknits, another amazing bear knitter and volunteer.

While I was busy at the booth, Janice met Steven West in his booth!  He asked her to take a photo together, and they had a nice chat.  (confession: I’m jealous!!!)

Too cool!

Too cool!

Some faves from what I saw around Stitches (confession: I was tired after volunteering, and also overexcited from all the yarn fumes, so I didn’t take that many pictures!!  There was much more amazingness than what you see here):

Yarn truck!

Yarn truck!

Size WHAT??!!

Size WHAT??!!

Scaly knitting!!!

Scaly knitting!!!

Mmmm, Wonderland Dyeworks....

Mmmm, Wonderland Dyeworks….

Very hard to resist; Harry Potter AND Dr. Who project bags!

Very hard to resist; Harry Potter AND Dr. Who project bags!

Yuk, yuk.

Yuk, yuk.

With all these temptations, Janice and I showed amazing restraint and we both came in well under budget with our purchases.

I ended up buying two rovings for spinning– one gorgeous, shiny one from Anzula, and one beautiful deep red one from Wonderland Dyeworks (3 years in a row!  Their rich colors draw me in every time!), and I also bought a shawl pin, which I’ve been needing for some time.  The Malabrigo roving was a lucky freebie from the Malabrigo booth!

Marissa's souvenirs.

Marissa’s souvenirs.

Janice left with a super pretty gradiant yarn from Freia (hooray for local yarn companies!),

So pink!  So pretty!

So pink! So pretty!

and these two gorgeous skeins of Yummy from Miss Babs, which are to become a shawl.

Yummy indeed!

Yummy indeed!

We left by 3:00, pretty tired, but pretty satisfied, I’d say.

Posted by Marissa, who would like to knit last year’s Stitches purchases before starting in on this year’s loot….

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment