Knit Along with Me

For 2014, I decided to do all my knitting projects as knit-alongs (KAL) which means that I convince at least one friend to do knit the same pattern at the same time as me. Why? Because knitting is more fun with friends! And having a team of people doing the same project keeps me focused on the task at hand even if it gets difficult or tedious.

So far, the plan is working! Of my five project goals for 2014, I’ve finished two completely and have made progress on all the rest.

One of the finished goals is knitting 14 mother bears along with Marissa. We’ve both made more than 14 already. Marissa has done 19! Here’s a photo of the latest shipment of our bears:

Ready for world travel

Ready for world travel

The KALs have been so fun that I even did some extra:

I joined Sarah’s baby bird nest KAL and made six birds nest for Bay Area Wildcare. This large KAL has been a huge success. They have received over 1,900 nests from from California, Minnesota, Texas, Florida, New York, Ontario, Washington, New Mexico, Arizona, Colorado and Indiana!

6 of 1900 baby bird nests

6 of 1900 baby bird nests

Janice and I did a 2-person KAL and were some of the first knitters to make the recently released Nisse hat by Tasha Moss of By Gum, By Golly. We both were enchanted by these cute garden gnomes!

lafayettepark 016

There’s lots more knitting to come in 2014 and I’m very happy to have friends willing to knit along with me!

Reported by Tracey, who invites you to KAL too.

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

