2012 Goals: Final Update From Elizabeth

Goal #1: knit a sweater for my dad in honor of his 80th year

I am *this* close to finishing. My dad’s sweater is complete, I just need to find some nice buttons to finish it off. Of course it is already 2013 so I didn’t exactly make it by the deadline. That being said, having the goal to knit my dad a sweater helped me make sure that my dad will actually have a hand knit sweater to wear to keep him cozy while he is watching movies late into the night. The sweater I am replacing is older than I am and it is showing its age!  Project details on Ravelry.

80th Birthday Sweater

80th Birthday Sweater

 Goal #2: knit 12 projects in fingering weight in 2012

I did much better on goal #2. Not only did I complete 12 fingering weight projects in 2012 – I finished 14! Plus, I started 2013 with two more fingering weight projects on the needles.

I already blogged about the first seven projects here. What follows are the details on the final seven fingering weight projects:

Project 8: Mom’s Ivy – Knit for the ancient greece KAL for the San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month knitting group. My mom has been asking for a pair of socks, so I knit the Hedera pattern by Cookie A just in time for her birthday in August. I must say, she is a great knit recipient. She wears these socks a lot and loves to tell her friends that her daughter made them for her. Project details on Ravelry.

Mom’s Ivy

Mom’s Ivy

 Project 9: Stripy Arms – I dyed up some self-striping yarn at our Purl Jam Dyeing Day with the express purpose of knitting up some hand warmers for my friend Sarah. It took me a couple of tries to figure out the best pattern to use. I was inspired by the gloves Tracey made using a modified Jaywalker pattern by Grumperina. While my timing was perfect for gift giving, my sizing was a little small and the arm warmers were gifted to Tracey instead. Project details on Ravelry.

Stripy Arms

Stripy Arms

Project 10: Stripy Arms, Part 2 – All the same details as before, but this time I made the correct size for Sarah. Project details on Ravelry.

Stripy Arms, Part 2

Stripy Arms, Part 2

Project 11: Socks On Fire – Knit for the Rose Hiver (designer) KAL for the San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month knitting group. Rose Hiver’s Katniss socks were named for the lead character in the Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Project details on Ravelry.

Socks On Fire

Socks On Fire

Project 12: Skully Wristers – When I choose a project for our PurlJam Steek workshop, I decided to combine two patterns. The basics of how to create a wrister come from Mushroom Pulse Warmers by Adrian Bizilia. Since I am more of a skull girl (Day of the Dead is my favorite holiday) than a mushroom girl, I looked to Zombies Need Not Apply by Jennifer Tallapaneni for my colorwork design. Steeking was super interesting, if a tad nerve-wracking. I am not sure how soon I will use those skills again, but it is nice to know that I can. Project details on Ravelry.

Skully Wristers

Skully Wristers

Project 13: Warm Colored Tiny Shoes – The first of my good friends from high school to get pregnant since I became a regular knitter had her baby in September. I have had to restrain myself from making all the cute baby patterns on Ravelry! I do love the Tiny Shoes pattern by Ysolda Teague and I had some fun orange, red, & pink leftover Socks That Rock yarn that was begging to be turned into little shoes. Note that is the most pink item that baby will ever get from me! Project details on Ravelry.

Warm Colored Tiny Shoes

Warm Colored Tiny Shoes

Project 14: What A Way To Make A Living – The last socks I finished in 2012 are from a 2008 KAL of San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month knitting group. I am attempting to knit up all the socks that were nominated before I joined the group (or at least all the socks from 2008.) The sock group’s very first pattern was Nine-To-Five Socks by Nicole Hindes. Project details on Ravelry.

What a Way to Make a Living

What a Way to Make a Living

These fingering weight projects and my dad’s sweater (plus a few other things) kept me plenty busy in 2012 so I didn’t pay much attention to my secondary goals (learn to crochet, learn to knit continental style, learn to double knit, publish a pattern on Ravelry, & knit a sweater for myself). I did practice a little continental knitting, though I am far from accomplished in that style. I also started a double knit argyle scarf. It requires a lot of concentrated knitting time, so I haven’t made it very far on the project. That scarf is one thing that I would like to complete in 2013.

All in all, I enjoyed having goals for 2012. I like the idea of knitting 13 of something in 2013, but I have not decided what yet. One goal for 2013 is to make better use of my knitting books. I have beautiful, information stuffed books decorating my living room, but I should really crack the spine on them and get at the “academic” side of the craft. I would also like 2013 to be the year where a higher percentage of my knitting projects are items to be gifted to friends or given to charity. (Actual percentage tbd.)

Reported by Elizabeth, who just might be making a gift for you!

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

