2012 Goals: Update from Elizabeth

At the beginning of 2012, I set the following knitting goals:

My two big goals for 2012 are:
1. knit a sweater for my dad in honor of his 80th year
2. knit 12 projects in fingering weight in 2012

My secondary goals are mainly carry-overs from 2011, but maybe 2012 will be the year I complete them:
• learn to crochet
• learn to knit continental style
• learn to double knit
• publish a pattern on Ravelry
• knit a sweater for myself

Here is my progress report, after five months of knitting:

My Primary Goals

1. Knit a sweater for my dad in honor of his 80th birthday

I am about halfway through my dad’s sweater. I am doing a slight variation on the Collegiate Cardigan by Erika Knight from the book Men’s Knits: 20 New Classics. My dad has requested a straight V-neck collar instead of the roll-over collar. So far, I have knit the back and most of the 2 front pieces. However, I have slowed down a bit on this one. I think I paused because the pieces got too big to be a travel project and because I am a tad worried that the alterations which I have made will not work out right. My big summer goal is to get moving again on this project. I would really like to finish this before my dad turns 81 in October. Project details on Ravelry

80th Birthday Sweater

2. Knit 12 projects in fingering weight in 2012

Project 1: Hitchhiker Who Scarf – The Hitchhiker (inspired by The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy) scarf pattern designed by Martina Behm made with yarn in a colorway inspired by the 10th Doctor on Doctor Who and dyed by Schmutzerella Yarns. It is my secretly doubly-geeky scarf. Project details on Ravelry.

Doctor Who Hitchhiker

Project 2: Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey Cowl – The Tilting TARDIS cowl designed by Marilyn Phillippi made with a lace pattern designed to look like the TARDIS. Project details on Ravelry.

Wibbly Wobbly Timey Wimey cowl

Project 3: Wooden Rose Socks – Socks made in the Blackrose pattern designed by Suzi Anvin in a brown Knit Picks colorway. This is also the first sock KAL (knit-a-long) of the year for the San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month knitting group. Project details on Ravelry.

Wooden Rose

Project 4: Girlie Fingerless Mittens – Very feminine mittens designed by Ysolda Teague (Veyla) knit up in a beautiful Malabrigo dark blue sock yarn. Project details on Ravelry.

Girlie Gloves

Project 5: Absinthe Socks – Knit for the “vintage” KAL for the San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month knitting group. The Absinthe socks were designed by Sara Morris and knit up in a light green colorway that I picked up at Stitches from Hazel Knits. Project details on Ravelry.

Absinthe

Project 6: Iced Tea ZiggityZiggity is a Kristen Kapur pattern knit up with Thai Iced Tea yarn from A Verb for Keeping Warm and black yarn with purple undertones from Miss Babs. Project details on Ravelry.

Thai Iced Ziggety

Project 7: Captain VegetableCarrots and Beets socks, a Spilly Jane pattern, knit for the San Francisco One-Sock-A-Month “delicious” sock KAL. Project details on Ravelry.

Captain Vegetable

Having my primary goals has made it fun to track my progress, above & beyond what I do on Ravelry.

My Secondary Goals

Learn to crochet – I’m still pretty much a beginner’s beginner at this. Maybe something I will work on in the fall.

Learn to knit continental style – I made a colorwork hat for my brother, working the main color in English style and the contrast color in continental style. I got comfortable with the continental knit stitch, although I still need to work on my tension. As for the continental purl stitch, that still needs a lot of work. If I spend any more time on this, it will be in the fall/winter. The skull pattern is adapted from a cool sock pattern by Erssie Major called Las Calacas Danzantes. Project details on Ravelry.

Skull Hat project on Ravelry

Learn to double knit – I am well on my way into the Uncle Argyle Scarf by Lindsay Hendricks from Son of Stitch ‘n Bitch. I am knitting this scarf as a mini-KAL with fellow Purl Jammer, Tracey. The process of double knitting is slow, but the final project looks great. Plus, we learned the tubular cast-on that makes a very nice edge on the scarf. Project details on Ravelry.

The Double Knit Argyle Challenge

Publish a pattern on Ravelry – not an active goal for 2012

Knit a sweater for myself – no longer a goal for 2012

My secondary goals are really leftover goals from 2011. It felt good to finally pick projects like the argyle scarf and the skull hat for my brother that got me to learn new skills. Clearly the last two goals are no longer a priority for me.

Five months into the year, I have made a good dent in my 2012 goals. For my main goals, I feel confident that I will complete them this year. Since my secondary goals are really new skills to learn, they will always be an ongoing project for me. As a fan of “To Do” lists, this goal setting process has been helpful for me. Plus, I have still given myself enough time to knit other things throughout the year.

Reported by Elizabeth, who is already thinking about what she can knit 13 of in 2013.

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 Goals: Update from Elizabeth

  1. Elizabeth says:

    In case you want to know more about Erssie Major, here is the link to her website: http://erssieknits.squarespace.com/

  2. Pingback: 2012 Goals: Final Update From Elizabeth | Purl Jam SF

Leave a Reply

