2012 Goals: Update from Marissa

At the beginning of 2012, I set the following knitting goals:

My knitting/fiber resolutions (paltry due to limited knitting time):

1. Knit myself at least one sweater.
2. Spin my fiber stash. It might be too ambitious to aim for the entire stash, but I will do my best.
3. Knit my handspun (not all, but some. I don’t want to spin it and just have it hang out in the closet).

I feel like I’m doing pretty well with my 2012 knitting/spinning goals.

1. Knit myself at least one sweater: I knitted a short-sleeved sweater with gorgeous cables, the DROPS waistcoat in ”Alaska” with raglan and cables on yoke designed by Drops designs. Here’s my project details on Ravelry. It was such a great, fast project!

Waistcoat in San Francisco

2. Spin my fiber stash: I’ve spun a good bit so far in 2012. 411 yards of gray/red Girl on the Rocks superwash Merino, 288.3 yards of green/gold Girl on the Rocks Superwash Merino/Tencel in Tarnished colorway, 351.7 yards of gray/green Girl on the Rocks superwash Merino in Mossy Stone colorway, and 173.4 yards of gray (undyed) Meridian Jacobs wool.

Fiber Spun in 2012

There is still quite a bit of fiber in my stash, though.

Fiber to be Spun

3. Knit my handspun: This is my weakest point. I’ve only knitted one shawlette from my handspun, the Age of Brass and Steam Kerchief designed by Orange Flower. I spun this yarn last fall from Dicentra Designs Blue Faced Leicester in Banyan colorway. Here’s my project details on Ravelry.

The Age of Bobbins and Spindles

I plan to match up my skeins of handspun with patterns and put them together in project bags so they’re ready and accessible as soon as I need a new project!

Handspun to be Knit

Setting the goals is definitely helping me to be more focused as I spin and knit this year. I really want to use what I have in my stash and buy less, and keeping my goals in mind is helping me avoid shopping (cough, cough, Stitches West, cough, cough). Because I am taking full-time care of my two small children, my fiber time is really limited, so it’s great that I feel focused and am not wasting time wondering what to do when I finally have time!

I could probably knit all my completed handspun yarn, OR spin all of my stashed fiber, but I don’t think it’s likely that I can do both by the end of the year, especially since I have socks, more sweaters, etc., in mind to knit. But if I can do half of each, I will be pretty pleased. I’ll keep trying, though!

Reported by Marissa, who wishes she had more time to spin and knit!!!

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 Goals: Update from Marissa

  1. do you sell your handspun?

    • marissa says:

      I haven’t thought about doing that…. The fiber itself isn’t cheap, the spinning takes a long time, and I get so attached to it!

Leave a Reply

