2012: The Year of the Sweater

Do you make New Year’s resolutions? I don’t but I do try to set goals at the start of each year. Is there a difference? In my mind, resolutions are something make or break – either you do them or you don’t (and invariably you don’t) – whereas goals are things that you work towards and even if you don’t fully accomplish your goal, it’s a success to be moving in that direction (at least, that’s what I tell myself).

2011 Purl Jam Stash Exchange Yarn

When I asked the Purl Jammers to tell me their knitting goals for 2012, every single one of them mentioned working on a sweater! Here’s what each person had to say about their sweater goal:

Annie: Make a coat for myself from one of my grandfather’s sweaters, knitted by my grandmother and unraveled and washed by her.

Corinne: Design and knit a sweater and fix the sleeves on the cardigan I knit for my sister before winter ends, so she can actually wear it.

Elizabeth: Knit a sweater for my dad in honor of his 80th year and knit a sweater for myself.

Janice: Knit one sweater.

Jessica May: I’ve had 1/3 of a sweater sitting in a drawer for months – no more such abandoned projects this year!

Kelly: Make a cardigan for myself.

Marissa: Knit myself at least one sweater.

Preeti: Knit 5 sweaters.

Sarah: Knit myself a sweater I want to wear every day, knit my husband a sweater he wants to wear every day and knit my son a sweater that fits him (he always wants to wear what I knit him – got to enjoy this while it lasts!).

Tracey: Knit all the alpaca currently in my stash … enough for 2 sweaters.

2012 also lends itself to some nice numerological goals! Janice wants to spin 12 pounds of fiber in 2012. Elizabeth plans to knit 12 projects from fingering weight yarn in 2012. Corinne wants to make it to knit night once a month, i.e. 12 Purl Jams in 2012, and Preeti is determined to purchase no more than 12 balls/skeins of yarn over the next 12 months of 2012.

That’s not all. There are other knits are on the list, including 6 pairs of socks and a Sheep Heid hat for Janice, 5 pairs of socks for Preeti, and for Kelly, all the amigurumi in Hansi’s book that she hasn’t already made. Marissa is going to spin up her fiber stash and knit up some of her handspun. Corinne, Sarah, Kelly and Elizabeth all plan to work on designs and/or publish patterns. Elizabeth and I both listed new techniques that we want to learn.

For the record, I have summarized everyone’s goals in this handy reference table (click for the big picture):

Purl Jam 2012 Knitting Goals

I’m hoping that posting them for the whole world to see will motivate us to meet our goals. Time will tell! And so will I, with follow-up blog posts throughout the year so you can track our progress.

What are your knitting goals for 2012? Please post them in the comments below for all the world to see!

2011 Purl Jam Stash Exchange Yarn Grab

Reported by Tracey, who has almost finished her first alpaca sweater.

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2012: The Year of the Sweater

  1. Sarah says:

    Handy reference table!

  2. apocaknits says:

    nice post! You’ve inspired me to make a knitting goal for this year and that’s… to finish sweaters started in previous years. I have one for John and one that I started for myself last year. (The one I started for myself has a giant hole in it, like a cat ripped it apart. I also found one of those miniature chocolate bars, sort of, melted into it. Yikes.)

Leave a Reply

