Febtober Lady Sweater: PJ Gallery and Pattern Review

It’s October and time to break out your hand knit sweaters! Three Purl Jammers did just that and coincidentally (or so they insisted) took advantage of the cooler weather to wear their hand knit February Lady Sweaters to San Francisco Sock Sunday last weekend.

The February Lady Sweater pattern by Pamela Wynne (available on her blog Flint Knits) is an adult version of the classic Baby Sweater on Two Needles pattern published by Elizabeth Zimmerman in her charming Knitters Almanac.

In early 2010, Pamela Wynne published a list of helpful hints and possible modifications to the February Lady Sweater pattern based on feedback from knitters.

Elizabeth, Jessica and Marissa show off their February Lady Sweaters

Here’s what each Purl Jammer had to say about knitting and wearing her February Lady Sweater:

Elizabeth in brown Knit Picks Wool of the Andes (Ravelry project link):

I knit my sweater in the summer of 2009. It was my first completed sweater and proved to me that I could knit a sweater. The pattern was fairly easy and satisfying to knit. The fit is on the loose side, so the pattern is forgiving and you can make adjustments as necessary.

The sweater is a good weight for San Francisco weather and looks nice for work. In the fall/spring, I wear it about once a week or once every other week. I would totally recommend this pattern. It is a classic in the knitting world. It is like a secret handshake that lets others know you are a knitter (or the lucky friend of a knitter).

Jessica in blue Louet Riverstone (Ravelry project link):

I knit my sweater about two years ago, in the fall of 2008. It was a pretty good knit, and I found the pattern easy to follow. The pattern does not contain a chart for the gull lace so I made a little lace chart myself (available as a pdf).

Gull lace chart drafted by Jessica

Definitely do a gauge swatch if you’re thinking about knitting this! I ended up knitting the yoke twice due to gauge issues, but that was my fault, not the pattern’s. The only other changes I’d make would be to make the sleeves less bell-shaped. They flare out quite a bit, and as a result I find that I don’t wear the sweater as often as I thought I would. If I knit it again, I’d put in some sleeve shaping. But it makes a great house coat on cold days, and the pattern shows up quite nicely in the yarn.

Marissa in burgundy Cascade 220 (ravelry project link):

I knit my sweater in the spring of 2010. It was easy but I had to rip back almost the whole thing and rethink my increases. The stitch pattern was very intuitive and easy to memorize. It was a fast knit, despite the mistakes I made.

I wear my sweater a few times a month. As a stay-at-home-mom, I generally wear things that aren’t so fancy. I definitely save it for occasions that are more special than the park or playdates, or when I know I’ll be around knitters!

I soundly recommend this pattern. I advise prospective knitters to look at the designer’s comments and advice on her blog. It definitely grows with blocking, so don’t be worried if it looks a little too small. And it looks great in so many different yarns!

Have you knit a February Lady Sweater or are you considering casting on? Please add your comments below!

-Reported by Tracey, who loves fall but has yet to make her own February Lady Sweater

About purljamsf

We're a group of knitters, crocheters, spinners, and weavers, who meet on Tuesday nights at 7 pm at Tart to Tart in the Inner Sunset. Please join us!
This entry was posted in notes from the field. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

